Massachusetts’ Used Vehicle Warranty Law applies to consumers who buy used vehicles from a dealer or private party in Massachusetts. The law says that dealers have to provide buyers with a written warranty against defects that impair the vehicles’ use or safety, and mandates that private sellers disclose any known use or safety defects.
The law covers used cars, vans, trucks, and demonstration vehicles that aren’t covered by the New Car Lemon Law, and that are sold by a Massachusetts dealer or private seller. For dealer sales, the vehicle must cost at least $700, and have fewer than 125,000 miles on the odometer at the time of sale.
According to Massachusetts Used Vehicle Warranty Law, the length of the required warranty is based on the vehicle's mileage.
If the true mileage of the vehicle is unknown, the warranty period is calculated according to the age of the vehicle.
The warranty is extended one day for each day the vehicle is out of service for repairs, and for one mile for each mile it is driven while repairs are being made. Furthermore, any repair on a covered defect carries its own 30-day warranty.