Pennsylvania Lemon Law
Owning a defective car can make even the most simple life tasks a chore. It’s hard to take kids to school, get to work, and go to and from the dealership when your car isn’t dependable. Thankfully, Pennsylvania lemon law can help. Here’s a summary:
New cars: Yes
Used cars: No
Business vehicles: No
Leased vehicles: Yes
Lemon law period: 1 year/12,000 miles
What is a Lemon Car Under Pennsylvania Law?
Pennsylvania lemon law covers new passenger cars, SUVs, vans, and trucks that are designed to transport up to 15 people, and that are purchased or leased in Pennsylvania, or that are purchased and leased elsewhere but registered for the first time in Pennsylvania. In order to be considered a “lemon,” the vehicle must meet the following requirements:
- Does not conform to the manufacturer’s express warranty
- Has substantial defects affecting the use, value, or safety of the vehicle
- Has manufacturer’s defects that first occurred during the first year from the original owner’s delivery date, the first 12,000 miles on the odometer, or the term of the manufacturer’s express warranty (whichever period ends first)
- Has been taken in three times for the same problem or if it has been at the dealership for a total of 30 days during the first year or 12,000 miles
- Is driven for personal use
73 Pa. Cons. Statutes Sections 1951-1963 is the state’s lemon law.
Getting Lemon Justice: Pennsylvania Lemon Law Relief
The law provides several options for a successful lemon law claimant. First, you may be awarded a replacement vehicle of the same year, make, and model. You may also qualify for a monetary award, which can include:
- The full contract price
- Sales tax
- Registration fees
- Finance charges paid on your loan
- Cost of dealer-installed options
- Towing and vehicle rental costs
- Non-dealer added options
- Attorney’s fees
The amount of the monetary reward may be reduced by no more than 10% of the purchase price or 10 cents for each mile driven before the first reported repair. The award may also be reduced by the total amount of dealer allowances and rebates or settlements.
Pursuing a PA Lemon Law Claim
Under Pennsylvania lemon law, you must contact the manufacturer’s zone representative at the telephone number listed in your owner’s manual. If the representative can’t have the defect corrected, you can use the manufacturer’s dispute resolution process (if one exists). If there isn’t a process in place, or if you disagree with the arbitrator’s decision, you can file a lawsuit.
How We Can Help
Wherever you are in the lemon law claim process, we’re happy to help. Whether you need help gathering the material documenting your lemon, submitting the final demand letter, negotiating a settlement, or appealing the arbitration decision, Lemberg Law will be at your side every step of the way.
Helping consumers is what we do. We’ve helped more than 15,000 people recover more than $35 million. You can read more about us here.
Remember that vehicle manufacturers have teams of lawyers that do nothing but fight lemon law claims. Lemon laws try to level playing field by forcing automakers to pay the consumer’s attorney fees in successful lemon law claims. That’s why our representation won’t cost you a dime.
There’s a limited window of opportunity for filing a lemon law claim. If you suspect you have a Pennsylvania lemon, give us a call today. We understand your frustration, and will do our best to deliver the justice you deserve.