Make Them Pay! Call 877-79-LEMON

New Hampshire Lemon Law

At-a-Glance

If you live in New Hampshire and you believe you own a defective vehicle, don’t lose hope. New Hampshire has a lemon law that can help make things right. Here’s a summary:

New cars: Yes
Used cars: No
RVs: No
Business vehicles: Yes
Motorcycles: Yes
Leased vehicles: Yes
Snowmobiles: Yes
Off-highway recreational vehicles: Yes
Lemon law period: Warranty period

What is a Lemon Car Under New Hampshire Law?

New Hampshire lemon law covers new passenger vehicles, SUVs, vans, trucks, motorcycles and off-road recreational vehicles under 11,000 pounds that are purchased or leased (for at least two years) in New Hampshire. It also covers used vehicles that are under the manufacturer’s express warranty period. In order to be considered a “lemon,” the vehicle must meet the following requirements:

  • Does not conform to the manufacturer’s express warranty
  • Has substantial defects affecting the use, safety or value of the vehicle
  • Has manufacturer’s defects that occurred during the manufacturer’s warranty period
  • Has been taken in three times for the same problem or has been out of service for a cumulative total of 30 business days for a series of unrelated problems within the manufacturer’s warranty period
  • You have filed for the New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Arbitration program within one year after the warranty period has expired
  • You have participated in the New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Arbitration program
  • Unless you purchased it outright, you have continued to make payments on the vehicle

Nevada Revised Statutes, Sections 597.600 through 597.688 are the state’s lemon law.

Getting Lemon Justice: New Hampshire Lemon Law Relief

New Hampshire lemon law provides several options for a successful lemon law claimant. First, you may be awarded a replacement vehicle of the same year, make, and model. You may also qualify for a monetary award, which can include:

  • The full purchase price
  • Finance charges
  • Credits and trade-in allowances
  • Sales tax
  • License fees
  • Registration fees
  • Attorney’s fees

The amount of the monetary reward may be reduced by a deduction for your use of the vehicle prior to the first repair attempt, which is calculated by dividing the number of miles driven 100,000, and multiplying by the full purchase price of the vehicle.

Pursuing a NH Lemon Law Claim

Under New Hampshire lemon law, after three repair attempts or after the vehicle is out of service for 30 business days, you must send the manufacturer a letter. You should send this letter by certified mail, with a return receipt requested. Here’s a sample demand letter that you can adapt for your use.

Under the law, you must file a claim with the New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Arbitration program within one year after the manufacturer’s warranty has expired.

If your Demand for Arbitration is accepted by the New Hampshire Motor Vehicle Arbitration Board, a hearing will be scheduled within 40 days of acceptance. The manufacturer will have the opportunity to repair the vehicle one final time. The MVAB has 30 days from the date of your hearing to issue a written decision. If you win, the manufacturer has 30 days from the date of the written decision to comply with or appeal the MVAB’s order. If you lose, you have 30 days to file an appeal with the superior court.

How We Can Help

Wherever you are in the lemon law claim process, we’re happy to help. Whether you need help gathering the material documenting your lemon, submitting the final demand letter, negotiating a settlement, or appealing the arbitration decision, Lemberg Law will be at your side every step of the way.

Helping consumers is what we do. We’ve helped more than 12,000 people recover more than $35 million. You can read more about us here.

Remember that vehicle manufacturers have teams of lawyers that do nothing but fight lemon law claims. Lemon laws try to level playing field by forcing automakers to pay the consumer’s attorney fees in successful lemon law claims. That’s why our representation won’t cost you a dime.

There’s a limited window of opportunity for filing a lemon law claim. If you suspect you have a New Hampshire lemon, give us a call today. We understand your frustration, and will do our best to deliver the justice you deserve.

Call Us. We’ll explain. 877-79-LEMON