Make Them Pay! Call 877-79-LEMON

Mississippi Lemon Law

At-a-Glance

If you live in Mississippi and own a defective vehicle, you may be able to get compensation under the state’s lemon law. Here’s a summary of the law:

New cars: Yes
Used cars: No
RVs: Yes
Business vehicles: No
Motorcycles: No
Leased vehicles: No
Lemon law period: 1 year

What is a Lemon Car Under Mississippi Lemon Law?

Mississippi lemon law covers new passenger vehicles, SUVs, vans, and trucks that are purchased in Mississippi, including used vehicles that are still under the manufacturer’s original warranty. It also covers demonstrators and lease-purchase vehicles sold with a manufacturer’s warranty, as well as the motorized portions of an RV. In order to be considered a “lemon,” the vehicle must meet the following requirements:

  • Does not conform to the manufacturer’s express warranty
  • Has substantial defects affecting the use, safety, or value of the vehicle
  • Has manufacturer’s defects that occurred during the first year from the delivery date or before the expiration of the manufacturer’s warranty (whichever period ends first)
  • Has been taken in three times for the same problem or has been out of service for a cumulative total of 15 business days
  • The manufacturer or dealer has been notified in writing of the defect and has been given a final opportunity to repair it
  • The owner has participated in the manufacturer’s informal dispute resolution process
  • Is driven primarily for personal, family, or household purposes

Mississippi Statutes, Sections 63-17-151 through 63-17-165 are the state’s lemon law

Getting Lemon Justice: Mississippi Lemon Law Relief

Mississippi lemon law provides several options for a successful lemon law claimant. First, you may be awarded a replacement vehicle of the same year, make, and model. You may also qualify for a monetary award, which can include:

  • The full purchase price
  • Manufacturer- and dealer-modifications
  • Trade-in allowances
  • Expert fees
  • Towing charges
  • Replacement car rental costs
  • Title charges
  • Attorney’s fees

The amount of the monetary reward may be reduced by a deduction for your use of the vehicle, which is calculated at 20 cents per mile driven.

Pursuing a MS Lemon Law Claim

If you want to pursue a claim under Mississippi’s lemon law, you must first send a notification to the manufacturer, and give them one last chance to repair the vehicle. You should send this letter by certified mail, with a return receipt requested. You should send the letter via certified mail, with return receipt requested. Here’s a sample demand letter that you can adapt for your use.

The manufacturer has to tell you where to take your vehicle for a final repair attempt within 10 days of receiving your letter. Once you take your vehicle in, they have 10 days to fix the problem. If the problem still isn’t fixed, and the manufacturer requires it, you must enter into the manufacturer’s informal dispute resolution process. If you are not satisfied with the outcome of the arbitration process, you have 90 days to file a lawsuit in court. If the manufacturer doesn’t have an informal dispute resolution process, you have to file suit within 18 months of the delivery date of your vehicle or within one year after the manufacturer’s warranty has expired, whichever comes first.

How We Can Help

Wherever you are in the lemon law claim process, we’re happy to help. Whether you need help gathering the material documenting your lemon, submitting the final demand letter, negotiating a settlement, or appealing the arbitration decision, Lemberg Law will be at your side every step of the way.

Helping consumers is what we do. We’ve helped more than 12,000 people recover more than $35 million. You can read more about us here.

Remember that vehicle manufacturers have teams of lawyers that do nothing but fight lemon law claims. Lemon laws try to level playing field by forcing automakers to pay the consumer’s attorney fees in successful lemon law claims. That’s why our representation won’t cost you a dime.

There’s a limited window of opportunity for filing a lemon law claim. If you suspect you have a Mississippi lemon, give us a call today. We understand your frustration, and will do our best to deliver the justice you deserve.

Call Us. We’ll explain. 877-79-LEMON