Connecticut Lemon Law
Of all of the consumer protection laws on the books, Connecticut’s lemon law was the first of its kind. It was the first lemon law enacted in the United States, and paved the way for every other state (and the District of Columbia) to pass its own lemon law. Here is a summary of Connecticut lemon law:
New cars: Yes
Used cars: Yes
Business vehicles: Yes
Leased vehicles: Yes
Lemon law period: 2 years/24,000 miles
What is a Lemon Car Under Connecticut Lemon Law?
Connecticut lemon law covers new passenger vehicles, combination vehicles, SUVs, trucks, business vehicles, and motorcycles that are purchased or leased in Connecticut. In order to be considered a “lemon,” the vehicle must meet the following requirements:
- Does not conform to the manufacturer’s express warranty
- Has substantial defects affecting the use, safety, or value of the vehicle
- Has manufacturer’s defects that occurred during the first two years from the original owner’s delivery date or the first 24,000 miles on the odometer (whichever period ends first)
- Has been taken in four times for the same problem (or two times if the defect might endanger the driver’s life) or if it has been out of service for 30 days due to a series of unrelated problems
Connecticut General Statute, Chapter 743b, is the state’s lemon law.
Getting Lemon Justice: Connecticut Lemon Law Relief
Connecticut lemon law provides several options for a successful lemon law claimant. First, you may be awarded a replacement vehicle of the same year, make, and model. You may also qualify for a refund of the purchase price, including your down payment, after subtracting the mileage deduction that is computed by multiplying the present mileage of the vehicle times the contract price and dividing that figure by 120,000.
A refund typically also includes all charges for undercoating; dealer preparation, transportation, and installed options; sales tax; license and registration fees; and similar government charges. Extended warranty and attorneys fees may also be reimbursed. You can also be awarded a refund for the finance charges you paid after you first reported the problem to the manufacturer, as well as during the time when your vehicle was not usable.
Pursuing a CT Lemon Law Claim
Before you begin the lemon law claim process, check to see if the manufacturer requires a written notification. This demand letter should be sent by certified mail, with a return receipt requested. Here’s a sample demand letter that you can adapt for your use.
Under Connecticut lemon law there are two ways to gain relief: go to court or go to arbitration. If you go through arbitration, you must submit a form and a $50 fee. You must choose between two different types of arbitration hearings: an oral hearing or a documentary hearing. You may also be required to notify the manufacturer that you have filed a claim for arbitration.
Often, consumers achieve a better outcome by going to court. The services of lemon law attorney are typically without cost, and a lemon law lawyer can often obtain a settlement, buyback, or replacement vehicle from the manufacturer.
How We Can Help
Wherever you are in the lemon law claim process, we’re happy to help. Whether you need help gathering the material documenting your lemon, submitting the final demand letter, negotiating a settlement, or suing the automaker, Lemberg Law will be at your side every step of the way.
Helping consumers is what we do. We’ve helped more than 15,000 people recover more than $35 million. You can read more about us here.
Remember that vehicle manufacturers have teams of lawyers that do nothing but fight lemon law claims. Lemon laws try to level playing field by forcing automakers to pay the consumer’s attorney fees in successful lemon law claims. That’s why our representation won’t cost you a dime.
There’s a limited window of opportunity for filing a lemon law claim. If you suspect you have a Connecticut lemon, give us a call today. We understand your frustration, and will do our best to deliver the justice you deserve.