Arizona Lemon Law
Arizona has some of the strongest consumer protection laws in the country. Those can come in handy if you find you have a defective vehicle on your hands. Here is a summary of Arizona lemon law.
New cars: Yes
Used cars: Yes
Business vehicles: Yes
Leased vehicles: No
Lemon law period: 2 years/24,000 miles
What is a Lemon Car Under Arizona Lemon Law??
Arizona new car lemon law covers passenger vehicles, SUVs, vans, trucks, and motorcycles that are purchased in Arizona and weigh less than 10,000 pounds; the motor and cab (but not the living quarters) of an RV; and used cars that are sold by dealers within the period of the vehicle’s express warranty, two years, or 24,000 miles of the original purchase (whichever comes first). In order to be considered a “lemon,” the vehicle must meet the following requirements:
- Does not conform to the manufacturer’s express warranty
- Has substantial defects affecting the use, safety, or value of the vehicle
- Has manufacturer’s defects that occurred during the manufacturer’s express warranty, the first two from the original owner’s delivery date, or the first 24,000 miles on the odometer (whichever period ends first)
- Has been taken in four times for the same problem or if it has been out of service for 30 calendars days due to the same problem
- After the dealer has tried to repair the vehicle four times, the manufacturer has been notified and given an opportunity to repair the vehicle
Arizona Revised Statutes Section 44-1261 to 44-1265 is the state’s new and used car lemon law.
Getting Lemon Justice – Relief Under AZ Lemon Law
Arizona lemon law provides several options for a successful lemon law claimant. First, you may be awarded a replacement vehicle of the same year, make, and model. You may also qualify for a monetary award, which can include:
- The full contract price
- All collateral charges
- Attorney’s fees
The amount of the monetary reward may be reduced by a deduction for your use of the vehicle before you first notified the manufacturer or dealer of the defect, as well as the time you used the vehicle when it was not in for repair.
Pursuing an Arizona Lemon Law Claim
In order to be protected by Arizona lemon law, you must send a demand letter to the manufacturer and/or dealer, and file a lemon law claim within six months of the express warranty term, two years from the date of the vehicle, or 24,000 miles, whichever comes first. Here’s a sample demand letter that you can adapt for your use.
Once you send the letter, the manufacturer has the opportunity to repair the vehicle one last time. If that does not fix the problem, you must participate in the manufacturer’s dispute resolution process (for example, arbitration, conciliation, or mediation) if the program meets state standards.
From there, you can file a lemon law case in court.
How We Can Help
Wherever you are in the lemon law claim process, we’re happy to help. Whether you need help gathering the material documenting your lemon, submitting the final demand letter, negotiating a settlement, or suing the automaker, Lemberg Law will be at your side every step of the way.
Helping consumers is what we do. We’ve helped more than 15,000 people recover more than $35 million. You can read more about us here.
Remember that vehicle manufacturers have teams of lawyers that do nothing but fight lemon law claims. Lemon laws try to level playing field by forcing automakers to pay the consumer’s attorney fees in successful lemon law claims. That’s why our representation won’t cost you a dime.
There’s a limited window of opportunity for filing a lemon law claim. If you suspect you have an Arizona lemon, give us a call today. We understand your frustration, and will do our best to deliver the justice you deserve.